When you disable the user profiles option, some icons may be missing from
the desktop or the Start menu.
When you disable user profiles, Windows returns to the original profile
that existed before you enabled the user profiles option. Settings created
by users after the user profiles option was enabled are lost.
The user profiles still exist in user-specific folders. You can access
these profiles to regain lost settings. To do so, follow these steps:
- Start Windows Explorer.
- Open the Windows folder, then open the Profiles folder.
- Open the folder corresponding to the user whose settings you want
- In the user-specific folder there is a Desktop folder. This folder
contains the shortcuts created by that user. You can drag these
shortcuts from the Desktop folder to the Windows desktop.
- In the user-specific folder there is also a Start Menu folder. You can
drag folders from the user-specific Start Menu folder to the Start Menu
folder in the Windows folder to regain missing Start menu items.
When you enable the user profiles option, multiple users can log on to
the same computer with different user names and create custom desktops.
To enable this option, double-click the Passwords icon in Control Panel,
click the User Profiles tab, and click "Users can customize their
preferences and desktop settings."
When you enable this option, Windows creates a Profiles folder in the
Windows folder. The Profiles folder contains a user-specific folder for
each user who logs on to the computer. Each user-specific folder contains
custom desktop and Start menu settings.
Windows uses the original profile only as a template for new users when
the user profiles option is enabled. If a user installs a new program,
that program appears only in that user's profile.