A client deinstall does not remove all of the SMS client files.
If the client has been upgraded the old cl_xx.txt and cl_xx.mod files are
not removed. When a deinstall is initiated SMS may find the old .txt and
.mod files and use those to remove the client files. SMS should instead use
the new client's .txt and .mod files to remove any client files.
For instance, if the client was upgraded from Windows 95 to Windows NT, the
\Ms\Sms\Data directory will still have the CL_W95.txt and CL_W95.mod files
along with the CL_NT.txt and CL_NT.mod files. If the client is then
deinstalled SMS may use the CL_W95.txt and CL_W95.mod for the remove file
list instead of CL_NT.txt and CL_NT.MoD.
Manually delete the old client's .txt and .mod files. This has been fixed
in 1.2. The client upgrade will now delete the old .txt and .mod files as
part of the upgrade.
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server
version 1.1. It has been fixed in Systems Management Server version 1.2.