When you save a document in Microsoft Excel, one of the
following error messages may appear.
read-only document filename
Document not completely saved.
Document not saved. Any previously saved
copy has been deleted.
The document is not saved.
locked for editing by 'user name'. Click 'Notify' to open a read-only copy of the document and
receive notification when the document is no longer in use.
This problem will occur when the process that Excel uses to
save a file is interrupted. For example, if you are saving to an external drive
such as a network drive, the connection has been dropped. Or, if you are saving
to a removable disk, such as a floppy diskette, the disk has been removed.
To continue working with this file, save the workbook to a
different disk drive. You must restore the connection or correct the problem
with the original target drive before you can save to that drive again.
When you work in a file, Microsoft Excel saves the file
with a temporary file name and places this file in the same folder as the
original file. When you save your file, the original file is then deleted and
the temporary file is renamed with the original file name.
process is interrupted, your file may not be saved properly or you may find one
or more temporary files in the folder where you tried to save your file. In
addition, you may receive one of several alert or error messages.
The following information lists some of the possible messages you may receive
and explanations as to why you may receive them.
"Cannot access read-only document <file name>"
The drive you are saving to is a network drive and you do not
have sufficient privileges to save to that drive. Save to your local hard disk
drive or to a floppy disk drive.
"Disk is full"
The drive you are saving to does not have enough space for the
temporary file. Delete some files from the current drive and save to another
drive or to a floppy disk drive.
"Document not saved," or "Document not completely saved"
The process was interrupted while creating the temporary file
because you pressed ESC, there was some hardware or software failure, or there
was another media problem. The original file is still intact and ,unless your
computer or workstation failed, the version of the file containing your current
changes is still open in memory. Save the file to an alternate drive. If your
computer or workstation did fail, you can use the original file. (Note that any
changes made in the last revision will be lost.)
"Document not saved. Any previously saved copy has been deleted"
The process was interrupted while deleting the original or
renaming the temporary file. This problem will occur for the same reasons as
the scenario described in the "'Document not saved,' or 'Document not
completely saved'" section. In this case, your original file is gone (though
the temporary file may be readable). If your computer or workstation failed,
use the temporary file. If the interruption was caused by something else, the
version of the file containing your current changes is still open in memory.
Save the file to an alternate drive.
For more information, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
Error message: The disk is full
Error message: Document not saved