DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 2533930 - Last Review: April 7, 2011 - Revision: 1.0

Symptoms

When redirecting a user profile folder or folders using Group Policy, if the option "Move the contents of <folder> to the new location" is not selected there will be duplicate folders created in a user profile: one pointing to the redirected location and one on the local hard drive. Unless this option is selected, a duplicate link will be left behind, even when that folder is completely empty.

Cause

This behavior is by design.

Resolution

Local copies of the user profile folder(s) may be safely deleted if they are empty.
Note This is a "FAST PUBLISH" article created directly from within the Microsoft support organization. The information contained herein is provided as-is in response to emerging issues. As a result of the speed in making it available, the materials may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice. See Terms of Use (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=151500) for other considerations.

APPLIES TO
  • Windows Vista Business
  • Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Enterprise
  • Windows Vista Enterprise 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Home Basic
  • Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Home Premium
  • Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit Edition
  • Windows Vista Ultimate
  • Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Edition
Keywords: 
KB2533930
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support