DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 264887 - Last Review: June 19, 2014 - Revision: 2.0

 

Summary

This article explains how to enable and disable the System Restore feature in Windows Millennium Edition (Me).

CAUTION: Disabling System Restore removes all previous restore points. To continue to use System Restore to restore your computer to a previous point, do not disable System Restore.

More information

The System Restore feature is enabled by default. To disable System Restore:
  1. Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
  2. On the Performance tab, click File System, or press ALT+F.
  3. On the Troubleshooting tab, click to select the Disable System Restore check box.
  4. Click OK twice, and then click Yes when you are prompted to restart the computer.
  5. To re-enable System Restore, follow steps 1-3, but in step 3, click to clear the Disable System Restore check box.
System Restore is the feature that allows a computer system to be rolled back, or restored, to a point before certain events took place, for example, prior to specific software or hardware installations. System Restore is a powerful tool that in most cases, should not be disabled.
Keywords: 
kbfaq kbhowto KB264887
Retired KB ArticleRetired KB Content Disclaimer
This article was written about products for which Microsoft no longer offers support. Therefore, this article is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support