DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 280828 - Last Review: January 25, 2006 - Revision: 1.2

This article was previously published under Q280828

On This Page

SUMMARY

This article describes how Microsoft Windows XP Professional functions when you use a remote desktop connection.

MORE INFORMATION

Windows XP Professional includes remote desktop functionality that you can use to connect remotely to the console through a Terminal Services client. Only one user can use a Windows XP Professional-based computer at a time, either by logging on to the console or by connecting remotely. These are the scenarios you may encounter.

Not using Fast User Switching (FUS)

No User Currently Logged on to the Console

When there are no users logged on to the console of a Windows XP Professional-based computer, any member of the Administrators Group or the Remote Desktop Users Group may establish a remote desktop connection.

Administrator Currently Logged on to the Console

When an administrator is logged on to the console of a Windows XP Professional-based computer, any member of the Administrators group may establish a remote desktop connection.

If a non-administrator attempts to connect, you may receive the following error message:
The user <Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer. Only the current user or an administrator can log on to this computer.
If an administrator attempts to connect and is currently logged on to the console, the administrator can connect to that console session remotely immediately.

If <administrator1> is logged on to the console and <administrator2> attempts to connect, you receive the following error message:
The user <Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer. If you continue, this user's Windows session will end and any unsaved data will be lost. Do you want to continue?
NOTE: If <administrator2> continues and logs on, <administrator1> may be disconnected.

Non-administrator Currently Logged on to the Console

When a non-administrator is logged on to the console of a Windows XP Professional-based computer, only that user or a member of the Administrators group may establish a remote desktop connection.

If <user1> is logged on to the console and <user2> attempts to connect, you receive the following error message:
The user <Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer. Only the current user or an administrator can log on to this computer.
If a non-administrator attempts to connect and is logged on to the console, the non-administrator can connect to that console session remotely immediately.

If a non-administrator is logged on to the console and an administrator attempts to connect, you may receive the following error message:
The user <Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer. If you continue, this user's Windows session will end and any unsaved data will be lost. Do you want to continue?
If the administrator continues, the non-administrator may be disconnected. A remote administration connection always overrides other connections. Therefore, the local user (either an administrator or a non-administrator) is disconnected when an administrator logs on.

If Fast User Switching Is Enabled

If Fast User Switching is enabled the behavior will be different from when it is not enabled, since the logged user will not be logged off, but instead will be disconnected and can resume their session later.

When a user attempts to use Remote Desktop to connect to a remote computer that has someone logged on it, Administrator or Limited User, they will receive the following error message:
The user <Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on to this computer. If you continue, <username> has to disconnect from this computer. Do you want to continue?
The user currently logged on to the remote computer will receive the following error message:
<Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is trying to connect to this computer. If you allow, you will be disconnected, but you can resume later. Do you want to allow this connection?
If the user clicks No, the remote user will get the message:
<Domain or Computer Name>\<username> is currently logged on this computer, and did not allow you to connect.
If the user clicks Yes or does nothing for a few seconds, the remote user will automatically connect and disconnect the current user logged in.

If a user tries to connect remotely and nobody is logged on to the remote computer or if the user is the one currently logged on to it, the user will connect automatically.

APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Keywords: 
kbinfo KB280828
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support