DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 286164 - Last Review: January 15, 2006 - Revision: 1.2

This article was previously published under Q286164

SUMMARY

This article describes how System Restore functions when you delete hard links.

MORE INFORMATION

If you delete a hard link to a file, and you run a System Restore operation, a new file that has the same name as the link is created. This file is not a link; it is a new file that has the same contents. For example, if you create a hard link called Hlink.exe that points to Original.exe, and restore point A is created, when Hlink.exe is deleted, the file is restored to restore point A. Hlink.exe is replaced, but this file is a copy of Original.exe, and not a hard link that is pointing to Original.exe. If you create a hard link, when the computer is restored, the link is deleted. The System Restore operation does not delete the file because there are other links to it. This behavior is by design.

APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Keywords: 
kbinfo KB286164
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support