This article describes how to turn off and turn on the System Restore feature in Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition or in Windows XP Professional Edition.
When you turn off System Restore, Windows XP removes the restore points that track changes in Windows. After you turn off System Restore, you can no longer restore Windows XP to an earlier time.
When you turn on System Restore, Windows XP creates restore points to track changes in Windows. After you turn on System Restore, you can restore Windows to the time of the earliest available restore point.
This article is intended for a beginning to intermediate computer user.
For more information about System Restore, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
How to restore the operating system to a previous state in Windows XP
How to start the System Restore tool at a command prompt in Windows XP
disable the System Restore configuration user interface
For more information about how to troubleshoot System Restore, click the following article numbers to view the articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
How to troubleshoot the System Restore tool in Windows XP