DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 831771 - Last Review: January 8, 2008 - Revision: 3.2

On This Page

SYMPTOMS

When you open or save a Microsoft Word document, markup text (comments, ink annotations, insertions and deletions, and formatting changes) that you turned off in the document the last time that you saved it may appear again .

Notes
  • This behavior is different from Microsoft Word 2002. In Word 2002, when you hide markup text changes to the document, the markup text remains hidden when you open or when you save the document.
  • When you turn off markup text in your Word document by using the Show button on the Reviewing toolbar, the markup text is not actually removed from the document. It is however, hidden from view.

CAUSE

This behavior is a design change to show markup text immediately when you open the document. This design change is intended to help you from accidentally sending a document that contains changes that you do not want seen.

RESOLUTION

To change this behavior and to retain the Reviewing options as you did in Word 2002, follow these steps, as appropriate for the version of Word that you are running.

Microsoft Office Word 2003

  1. Start Word 2003, and then open the Word 2003 document.
  2. On the Tools menu, click Options.
  3. On the Security tab, click to clear the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving check box.
  4. Click OK to close the Options dialog box.
  5. Make a change to the document. For example, type a space, and then delete the space. Then, save the document.
Note If you do not perform step 5 and make a change to the document, the change that you made to the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving option may not take effect the next time that you open the document.

Microsoft Office Word 2007

  1. Start Word 2007, and then open the Word 2007 document.
  2. Click the Microsoft Office Button, and then click Word Options.
  3. In the left pane, click Trust Center, and then click Trust Center Settings.
  4. In the left pane, click Privacy Options, and then click to clear the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving check box.
  5. Click OK two times.
  6. Make a change to the document. For example, type a space, and then delete the space. Then, save the document.
Note If you do not perform step 6 and make a change to the document, the change that you made to the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving option may not take effect the next time that you open the document.

Note If you save the file with the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving option cleared, another user will see the markup text immediately when he or she opens the document. The other user must also clear the Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving option.

This is because when you open a document that contains tracked changes, the document appears in the Final Showing Markup view to indicate that the document contains tracked changes. This behavior is by default.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
305216  (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305216/ ) How to track and manage changes in a Word 2002 and a Word 2003 document

MORE INFORMATION

The Make hidden markup visible when opening or saving option displays all comments, annotations, deletions, and other types of revisions. If you use the Show menu on the Reviewing toolbar to hide some of your revisions or all your revisions, and if you select this option, your revisions will appear when you or another user opens the file. This option does not affect text that is formatted as hidden.

APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Office Word 2007
  • Microsoft Office Word 2003
Keywords: 
kbsecurity kbformat kbprb KB831771
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support