DetailPage-MSS-KB

Microsoft small business knowledge base

Article ID: 961655 - Last Review: February 27, 2014 - Revision: 2.0

On This Page

Symptoms

Consider the following scenario. On a computer that is running Windows Server 2003 R2, you delete a member server from a Distributed File System (DFS) replication group. After event ID 4010 is logged in the DFS Replication log on the member server, you change the content in the replicated folder on the member server. Then, you add the member server back to the DFS replication group by using the same replicated folder. In this scenario, the changes that you made to the replicated folder are replicated unexpectedly to other member servers. However, you expect an initial replication to occur on the member server.

Workaround

To work around this problem, use one of the following methods.

Method 1: Disable the member server instead of deleting it

When you want to temporarily exclude a member server from a DFS replication group, we highly recommend that you disable the server on the Memberships tab in the DFS Management snap-in. If you want to include the member server in the DFS replication group later, you can just enable the member server without encountering the problem that is described in this article.

Note We recommend that you use Method 1.

Method 2: Wait for more than 60 days to add the member server to the DFS replication configuration

When you delete a member server from a DFS replication group, the member server will be marked by using a 60-day tombstone flag in the DFS replication database. If the member server is added to the DFS replication group within this 60-day period, this tombstone flag will be deleted, and the original server objects for this member server in the DFS replication database will be used. Therefore, the member server will not perform the initial replication, and content in the replicated folder is replicated unexpectedly.

Method 3: Do not change the replicated folder

After you re-add the member server, content in the replicated folder that is newer than the data on other replication partners is replicated unexpectedly. Therefore, verify that the data in the replicated folder is older than the data on other replication partners before you re-add the member server. To achieve this, do not change the replicated folder on the member server that you want to re-add later.

Status

Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed in the "Applies to" section.

Applies to
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Datacenter Edition (32-Bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Datacenter x64 Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition (32-Bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise x64 Edition
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard x64 Edition
  • Windows Server 2008 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2008 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard
  • Windows Server 2008 Standard
  • Windows Server 2012 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
  • Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard
  • Windows Server 2012 Standard
Keywords: 
kbsurveynew kbexpertiseadvanced kbinfo kbhowto KB961655
Share
Additional support options
Ask The Microsoft Small Business Support Community
Contact Microsoft Small Business Support
Find Microsoft Small Business Support Certified Partner
Find a Microsoft Store For In-Person Small Business Support